Every time you get behind the wheel, getting to and from your destination safely is the number one priority. Over the last 80 years, the Utah Safety Council has continually invested in traffic safety programs to help prevent traffic crashes and reduce collision-related injuries and fatalities on Utah’s roads. The Utah Safety Council’s Traffic Safety Programs provide education and resources to Utah’s community members and businesses to improve driver behaviors.
Programs include several National Safety Council Defensive Driving programs, Tow Truck Driver Certification and the Utah Network of Employers for Traffic Safety Program. Start on a safer road today with the Utah Safety Council!
The Utah Safety Council has produced several videos to help drivers take a personal look at their own driving behaviors. The videos are great to share during a safety meeting, or even with your family. View these videos.
The National Safety Council's Defensive Driving program offers practical strategies to reduce collision-related injuries and fatalities. It addresses the importance of attitude in preventing crashes, and reinforces good driving skills. Most importantly, DDC shows students the consequences of the choices they make behind the wheel, and puts defensive driving in a personal context. No other driver training program has a higher rate of success in reducing the severity and frequency of collisions for its participants than the National Safety Council's Defensive Driving Course. Study after study has shown that drivers who participate in the Defensive Driving Course average fewer collisions and fewer driving arrests than drivers who do not take the course. Offered locally through the Utah Safety Council, this course has set the standard in the industry for over 45 years, and continues to improve driver behaviors.
Attendees can receive up to 50 points off of their Utah driving record after completing the course. A Defensive Driving course can be taken once every 3 years for point reduction. The course also qualifies for the required live four-hour course on driving safety for anyone receiving the “Approaching an Emergency Vehicle or Stationary Emergency Vehicle” violation (also known as the Slow Down, Move Over Violation Utah Code 41-6a-904). Many courts also refer to these courses. Most insurance companies offer those over 55 years of age a reduction on their auto insurance for completing this course.
The Defensive Driving Course is a live four-hour course. It is taught at 11 different locations throughout Utah. The cost of this course is $40. - Register Today
If you have already registered for the course and just need to re-schedule please contact the Utah Safety Council at 801.746.SAFE (7233).
The Utah Safety Council has several options to meet your traffic school needs. This page will answer most of your questions. - Learn More
Seat belts save lives! Seat belts are the single most effective traffic safety device for preventing death and injury. They help the driver stay in the driver seat to maintain control of the vehicle. Seat belts reduce the risk of injury or death by 50% when used properly. Beginning on May 12, 2015, if you or anyone in your vehicle aren’t properly restrained, you can be issued a $45 citation (Utah Traffic Code 41-6a-1803).
A seat belt fine is waived upon completion of an online, 30 minute seat belt safety course. You must provide your certificate of completion to the court that issued your citation to have your fine waived. Register for this online course. If you have already registered for the course click here to return and resume your program.
Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for teens in the United States. Per mile driven, teen drivers ages 16 to 19 are three times more likely than drivers aged 20 and older to be in a fatal crash. Fortunately, teen motor vehicle crashes are preventable, and proven strategies can improve the safety of young drivers on the road.
The Alive at 25 course was specifically developed to help reduce teen driver collisions, injuries and fatalities caused by motor vehicle crashes. Designed to complement traditional driver education programs that focus on state laws and road and vehicle handling, Alive at 25 helps young drivers take greater responsibility for their driving by focusing on behavior, judgment and decision making. Learn More and Register Today!
Here are the six tips for parents of teen drivers from the Utah Safety Council.
1- Buckle up on every trip, and make sure passengers are buckled, too.
2- Keep household rules in place, even after school lets out. One third of parents surveyed said they allow risky behaviors during vacations, like driving late at night.
3- Practice with teens, even after licensure, to ensure they are retaining good driving habits.
4- Model good behaviors; 95% of parents who drive distracted do so in front of their teens.
5- Set household cell phone rules; more than half of teens feel pressure from their families to drive distracted.
6- Send your child to the Alive at 25 Course. - Learn More
Memorial Day kicks off what's known as 100 deadliest days for teen drivers. The AAA says that over the past five years, the average number of crashes involving drivers ages 16-19 increased 16% per day during the "100 deadliest days," compared with other days of the year. - Read More
Tow Truck Driver Certification
This course has been developed by the Utah Safety Council and has been approved by the Motor Carrier Division of the Utah Department of Transportation as meeting the requirements of an authorized program through which to obtain designation as a Certified Tow Truck Driver in the state of Utah.
The individual needing to take this course MUST create their OWN account to complete and receive the certificate in their name. Need help logging in to receive your member discount? Contact our office at 801.746.SAFE (7233) or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Benefits of Using this Course:
- Convenient - 100% online certification program.
- Quick - Receive your ID badge within one to three business days after completing your test.
- Comprehensive - Includes federal and state regulations.
- Interactive - Program includes video instruction and multiple-choice exam.
- Local - Locally administered and maintained for fast personal service and quick turnaround.
- Affordable - Least expensive driver certification course available with no set-up fees.
Download the program study guide and prepare before registering and making payment for this certification course. You must complete the certification process at the time you register, including taking the online exam. There will be 50 random questions in the certification final exam. All of the content will come from the study guide as well as the video portion in the beginning of the program.
After you have carefully studied the guide proceed to the registration link for the certification program. At the time of registration you will be given an opportunity to upload a JPEG photo for the ID card. The photo needs to be front facing, without hats and/or sunglasses, and similar to a passport photo. If you are not able to do this you may call our office to schedule an appointment to come in and have your photo taken.
The cost to certify is $75 per driver for Non-Member organizations. Members log-in to automatically save 30% on the cost of this course. Once payment is made you will be forwarded to the start of the program. The certification is valid for two years after which you will need to re-certify.
The first section of the program is a video slide presentation with a voice track narration. Prior to beginning the video please turn on your speakers. There are six sections of the video portion. Each section will end with a short quiz from that section.
Following the video portion you will be taking an online 50 question test consisting of multiple choice and true/false questions. This test is randomly generated from a pool of questions. Remember the questions will come from BOTH the video and the study guide. You will need a 75% or higher to pass. Upon completion of the test it will auto score you and send the results onto the Utah Safety Council.
If you do not receive the required 75% to pass the tow truck exam, you will be allowed to re-take the test once. If you do not receive the required 75% on the second attempt, you will be required to pay again to take the course a third time.
This certification test will take roughly an hour to complete.
Network of Employers for Traffic Safety (NETS)
Vehicle crashes are Utah’s #1 cause of job-related deaths. Aside from the obvious property damage and pain (both physical and emotional), vehicle crashes are tremendously costly. From minor fender benders to catastrophic fatal crashes, today’s average crash costs employers about $16,500. On-the-job crashes that result in injury cost $74,000, and fatal crashes can exceed costs of $500,000 (based on estimates by NHTSA).
Every company is vulnerable to traffic crashes. When an employee is involved in a crash, either on or off the job, costs are incurred. Like many employers, you may not even realize the countless direct and hidden expenses of crashes. These can have a devastating impact on your financial stability. In addition to health care and property damage, consider other substantial costs such as temporary staff, lower productivity, and higher insurance premiums.
An effective employee traffic safety program can help control costs and save lives. The Utah Safety Council, through the Utah Network of Employers for Traffic Safety (NETS) works to reduce traffic crashes, the primary cause of lost work time and employee fatalities. Utah NETS helps employers implement well-developed policies, dynamic workplace programs, and community activities, and can help reduce traffic crashes involving workers in your organization.
To help you with your traffic safety program at your organization, the Utah Safety Council, through the Utah Network of Employers for Traffic Safety, provides online resources to use in safety meetings and employee safety fairs. - Learn More
Don't miss out on an opportunity to educate your co-workers and family members on traffic safety all year long. - Mark Your Calendar
Published quarterly by the Utah Safety Council, the Utah NETS Newsletter provides information and details on upcoming training and traffic safety information. - Read the latest edition.
Whether you manage a fleet of vehicles, oversee a mobile sales force or simply employ commuters, by implementing a driver safety program in the workplace you can greatly reduce the risks faced by your employees and their families while protecting your company’s bottom line. - Register Today
The Occupational Seat Belt Award is presented to organizations that encourage seat belt use among employees and achieve usage rates of 100%. The benefits gained are numerous. The company will help save lives, act as a role model for other companies and be recognized for its efforts. - Learn More and Apply Today
Drive Safely Work Week
This yearly observance is held the first week of October. The Drive Safely Work Week (DSWW) campaign seeks to improve the safety of employees, employee family members and their communities. Additional resources will be added as we get closer to this observance.